top of page

Muckle Hill Climb

Sunday 22nd October 2017
Prospect Hill, Corbridge, Northumberland

Muckle CC hosted our 1st hill climb in October 2017, choosing the picturesque climb of Prospect Hill in Corbridge as the setting. When entries closed our event had sold out all 120 places with reserves signed up, the first time in recent memory that a local hill climb had sold out. 


Being our first event, we offered £100 to the fastest man and fastest women, as well as a host of other prizes that not just rewarded the cream of the hill climb crop. We also have a category for the 'bigger riders' where you only qualified if you weighed 82kgs or over. It was pleasing to see that plenty of riders had taken training for this category very seriously indeed, you know who you are..... 

Early Sunday morning brought heavy rain for the hardy souls preparing the course, slicking up the surface that was strewn with autumn leaves. Thankfully the rain subsided before sign on started and the first man took to the start line. We chose our reigning 'Muckle of the Year' Ian Stanners to have the honour of leading the charge. 


Following Ian were over a 100 riders, giving their all and cheered on by naughty nuns, a T-Rex and other supporters, up the almost 1 mile climb before arriving at the top completely spent from the effort. Thankfully back at HQ, there was a Muckle buffet to tuck into as the times rolled in from the hill.

Zeb Kyffin from GS Metro took the win for the men and Gemma Frost of Muckle CC fastest out of the women. Team prize went to Zeb, Tim Wilcox and Thomas Prentice (GS Metro). Full list of prize winners is below

                                      Men                                                            Women

                                1. Zeb Kyffin                                                 1. Gemma Frost

                                2. Patrick Clark                                             2. Susan Paterson

                                3. Tim Wilcock                                              3. Joanne Rea

                                4. Matt Smith                                               4. Hannah Farran

                                5. Nick Spencer                                            5. Gemma Hutchins

                     Team                           V40                                V50                         V60 - Tom Guy

               1. GS Metro                 1. Niall Paterson              1. Colin Atkinson            82kgs and above - Julian McBride

               2. Muckle CC                2. Dave Hopper               2. Geoff Mount              Junior - Thomas Prentice

               3. Gosforth RC              3. Dominic Munnelly        3. David Goodwin

bottom of page